Scotland Tour.

This Friday is the start of our holiday to Scotland and a 2 week tour of this fabulous country. Our plan is to get as far as Edinburgh stopping overnight and then on through the Cairngorms to John o groats. It’s then across the northern coast turning south down the west coast. Hopefully there are going to be some spectacular photographs along the way such as these I shot on our last tour .

image

image

I will be adding to the blog as we tour and hopefully some fine photography to go. Please share the blog and join us in the journey and give us some ideas if you know where might be some great photo locations along the way.

29/04/2015
One day to go before we set off on our journey. The T5 Transporter is all prepped and ready to go. It ought to be after 4 New tyres, alternator, New leasure battery and a mini service. Camera equipment all checked and batteries fully charged, sensors cleaned and warm cloaths packed. Fairly sure I’m going to forget something though.

02/05/15
First stop of the Scotland tour. Set off at 5pm yesterday and arrived here at 1am this morning. Traffic was chronic on the a1 a66 till it all cleared once were on the most beautiful motorway in Britain the M6, well part of it. Im Sat now looking out of the window of our home for the next 2 weeks and loch Tay is surrounded by sunkissed mountains reflecting in the mirrored water. Home is where you park it for now.
image

image

After a good breakfast we set off from Kenmore for a drive through Glen Lyon. It’s simply a stunning drive with snow capped mountains , streams , forests and some great stop off viewing areas. There is a little post office coffee shop at Bridge of Balgie which is good for a stop off break.
image

We didn’t carry on towards Loch Lyon which was further 15 miles or so, instead we turned left over the bridge towards Ben Lawers national nature reserve. The pass takes you high up in the mountains with incredible views.
image
The track is narrow with passing places along the way . I have found Scotland’s white roads, I call them, to be Iincredibly good compared to similar roads in the lakes and dales of England. They are well kept with pleanty of passing places along the route. The road continues to its summit and to a reservoir. We then dropped down back towards the A827 and Loch Tay.

It was then on to Aberfeldy to have a quick look round. We didn’t stop here long as it was just a small town and we wanted to get back in to the wildernessso, so we headed off towards Tummel Bridge following the B846.
Now you sometimes come across some funny signs and this was one that made us smile somewhat.
image

Welcome to Dull paired with Boring. I wouldn’t say dull or boring of this stunning place but the sign certainly adds a bit of fun to the place.
Once across Tummel Bridge we followed the road at the side of Loch Tummel towards Pitlochry. We stopped off at a view point called Queens View with an incredible Vista over the loch . I was amazed that even Glencoe was visible in the distance and my favourite mountain to photograph “Stob Dearg” could clearly be seen. Looking forward to seeing it later in the trip.
image
It was then on to Pitlochry to stay the night and plan the next day . Unfortunately the weather forecast looks pretty poor.
Internet connection is fairly sparce up in the highlands so I will update this blog as and when I can.

About Mark Bulmer

Hi and glad you came across my site and me. I'm a passionate Landscape photograpaher from York, North Yorkshire, England. I started to seriously photograph landscape images in 2010 after giving up my lifelong passion for course fishing. It was quite a natural progression for me having spent most of my young and adult life chasing that red letter day of bagging up a net full of fish while spending a day in natural beautiful surroundings, been on the bank of a lake or river from dawn to dusk and witnessing some incredible sunrises and sunsets along the way. After a bitter divorce in 2010, my whole life changed and what once was changed. My passion for fishing had gone. My passion for the great outdoors though still remained and photography had always been my second hobby. I decided to mix the two together as a distraction from the past and over the last few years its changed my perception of life. I still end up seeing the sunrise and sunset I loved to witness on the bank, I still get to enjoy the great outdoors but it takes me further afield to explore new avenues, venture to new highs, see new places, share new visions and ultimately get that cracking shot. Its addictive fun and a pleasure to do. I hope you enjoy get something from what I share and I look forward to bringing more of my visions and techniques. Drop me a line any time. Mark
This entry was posted in photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scotland Tour.

Leave a Reply

