Photographing Waterfalls

image

image

image

Photographing waterfalls can be challenging at times but get it right and you can produce some fantastic images.
Loving in the north of England I’m lucky to have a varied choice of falls to visit with the North York Moors and Yorkshire Dales on my doorstep.
I’m a big fan of the morning and evening sun as most landscape photographers are but what do you do when it’s an overcast but bright day, head for the trees and forrests of course. These conditions are absolutely the best you can have for photographing scenes like this. You absolutely do not want bright sunny days as the harsh light will cast unsightly shadaows accros the soft smooth tranquil feeling that we are trying to emulate.
The time of year too has a dramatic effect on the image and my favourite time is Autumn.
I will also use a polorizer to enhance the colours and to reduce reflections. Using a polorizer in overcast conditions is a is a brilliant technique as you can polorize in any direction because light is coming from all directions due to the overcast sky. This wouldn’t work if it was a bright sunny day.
Experimenting with exposure time too is another key to inject emotions in to the shot. Use a fast shutter speed of 1/2000sec to freeze action such as water droplets, be aware though as an increase in iso will be needed which may increase noise in the image. If like these images you like a dreamy silky smooth look an exposure of around a 2 seconds is all that’s needed, any more then several seconds though I think the water looks too much like a fog, I still like to retain some details in the flow of the water. Another piece of kit too is essential and that is a tripod. This will help keep everything still as its necessary with long exposures, your image will be blurry with out one. A microfiber cloth to is handy to wipe away any spray/mist that is undoubtedly going to end up costing the front ellement.
So get out and try this technique on an overcast day when you think it’s not possible to get a good image, these are the conditions I look for.

Follow me on my Facebook page Ebor Images and Twitter account @Eborimages hope to see you there.

About Mark Bulmer

Hi and glad you came across my site and me. I'm a passionate Landscape photograpaher from York, North Yorkshire, England. I started to seriously photograph landscape images in 2010 after giving up my lifelong passion for course fishing. It was quite a natural progression for me having spent most of my young and adult life chasing that red letter day of bagging up a net full of fish while spending a day in natural beautiful surroundings, been on the bank of a lake or river from dawn to dusk and witnessing some incredible sunrises and sunsets along the way. After a bitter divorce in 2010, my whole life changed and what once was changed. My passion for fishing had gone. My passion for the great outdoors though still remained and photography had always been my second hobby. I decided to mix the two together as a distraction from the past and over the last few years its changed my perception of life. I still end up seeing the sunrise and sunset I loved to witness on the bank, I still get to enjoy the great outdoors but it takes me further afield to explore new avenues, venture to new highs, see new places, share new visions and ultimately get that cracking shot. Its addictive fun and a pleasure to do. I hope you enjoy get something from what I share and I look forward to bringing more of my visions and techniques. Drop me a line any time. Mark
This entry was posted in exposure, landscape, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Photographing Waterfalls

Leave a Reply

