Ferrybridge “C”

image

For a long time now I have been wanting to photograph Ferrybridge power station and yesterday I made that time. I recently watched a program on BBC aptly named “keeping the lights on”.  But early in 2016 the Ferrybridge site will be turned off. It’s a sad end to such an iconic site that has stood here since the mid 1920s. It has dominated our skyline for decades and a landmark I recognize as not been far from home when returning from a holiday.
SSE who own the site are having to close it as it’s no longer viable due to cheaper imports of coal plus Britain’s need to cut emissions to which Ferrybridge can not meet. I will be sad to see another one of our British power stations close and probably some more in the near future. I agree we need more environmentally friendly energy and a huge investment of funds needs to be injected to alternative technology such as wind farms and I just hope these futuristic improvments can eventually meet the same output levels of our bygone era of Steam electric power generators.

About Mark Bulmer

Hi and glad you came across my site and me. I'm a passionate Landscape photograpaher from York, North Yorkshire, England. I started to seriously photograph landscape images in 2010 after giving up my lifelong passion for course fishing. It was quite a natural progression for me having spent most of my young and adult life chasing that red letter day of bagging up a net full of fish while spending a day in natural beautiful surroundings, been on the bank of a lake or river from dawn to dusk and witnessing some incredible sunrises and sunsets along the way. After a bitter divorce in 2010, my whole life changed and what once was changed. My passion for fishing had gone. My passion for the great outdoors though still remained and photography had always been my second hobby. I decided to mix the two together as a distraction from the past and over the last few years its changed my perception of life. I still end up seeing the sunrise and sunset I loved to witness on the bank, I still get to enjoy the great outdoors but it takes me further afield to explore new avenues, venture to new highs, see new places, share new visions and ultimately get that cracking shot. Its addictive fun and a pleasure to do. I hope you enjoy get something from what I share and I look forward to bringing more of my visions and techniques. Drop me a line any time. Mark
This entry was posted in exposure, landscape, photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment